How Your Children Learn & Develop

How Your Children Learn & Develop

At Bears Hideaway we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

 The EYFS is based around four Themes:
A Unique Child
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
Positive Relationships 
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
Enabling Environments 
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.
Learning and Development
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

All children are different and to reflect this, age ranges have been overlapped in the EYFS to create broad developmental phases. This emphasises that each child's progress is individual to them and that different children develop at different rates.
The learning and development is broken down into ‘prime’ and ‘specific’ areas. 

The prime areas PERSONAL SOCIAL & EMOTIONAL DEVELOPMENT, COMMUNICATION AND LANGUAGE & PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences and run through and support the other areas.
The specific areas LITERACY, MATHEMATICS, UNDERSTANDING THE WORLD, EXPRESSIVE ARTS & DESIGN include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning.

We can illustrate some examples below of how this looks in practice. Please click on the buttons for more information.

Share by: